How to Start a Career in Dog Training

How to Start a Career in Dog Training

Postby chelynnah » Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:24 pm

From: OldCapeCod (Original Message) Sent: 06/09/2006 02:57
I'm thinking about getting certified as a dog trainer. I can't stand the thought of working in a corporate environment until I retire.

Can anybody give me information about if it's hard to find work when you are newly certified (or thereafter), what pay to expect if you work for someone else (or yourself), etc. Feel free to pm me.

Thanks.
Lynn

Hi Lynn,

I can offer the "expert opinion" as one who has been there, done that! I currently work full time as a dog trainer, fully supporting myself and my dogs as a single-income household. It's not what I went to school for! I have a degree in Journalism and worked professionally in public relations for six years before "going to the dogs."

Here's what I can tell you. Dog trainers are a dime a dozen. There are as many, if not more BAD ones out there as there are good ones. Anyone can call themselves a dog trainer, certified or not. Certification means very little. There are very few groups that "certify" dog trainers. The Assocaition of Pet Dog Trainers (APDT) is one of them. Most organizations offer "certificates" that mean little more than a person completed their training program.

Even the APDT certification program only certifies that the person passed a test and met the requirements to be eligible for the test.